Natchitoches Times Logo
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Voting continues in Demon Delights quarterfinals
Jul 18, 2013 | 235 views | 0 0 comments | 1 1 recommendations | email to a friend | print
One of the best seasons in the 100-year history of Northwestern State basketball has produced a second straight quarterfinal berth in the "Demon Delight" contest at that will ultimately the top NSU sports highlight of 2012-13, with voting continuing in the fifth of eight opening rounds.

In round three completed Saturday night at midnight, voters picked the Demon basketball team scoring the game's last 11 points in the final 2:14 in front of a rabid Prather Coliseum crowd of 2,533 on Jan. 26, with a go-ahead 3-point basket from James Hulbin with 14 seconds left in a 61-57 victory over Stephen F. Austin, ending the nation's second-longest winning streak at 11.  In the latest round completed at midnight Monday, the overwhelming pick was the NSU basketball team advancing to the 2013 NCAA Tournament with a Southland Conference Tournament championship win over SFA, 68-66, as this time, the Demons held off a Lumberjacks rally in the closing minutes.

Voting began just past midnight Tuesday morning on the fifth of eight opening pairings in the contest celebrating 16 top accomplishments from the just completed NSU sports year. The current contest provides voters the choice between the Demons' 4x100 meter relay foursome of Gabe White, Hanoj Carter, Kendal Taylor and Justin Walker winning All-America honors with a 12th-place finish at the NCAA Track and Field Championships, while running the fastest time in the event at NSU since 1982; or the rebuilding Lady Demon basketball team, picked to finish last in the league, scoring upsets of the 2012 (McNeese State) and eventual 2013 (Sam Houston State) Southland champions in Prather Coliseum led by SLC Freshman of the Year Janelle Perez.

In the opening vote of the contest, fans picked Janae Allen's stunning 10th-place finish in the women's discus at the NCAA meet last month. The second round decision went to Andrea Nedorostova winning the women's tennis Student-Athlete of the Year honor after breaking the Lady Demons' career doubles wins record and captaining NSU to an NCAA Tournament appearance.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of Natchitoches Times.