Natchitoches Times Logo
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
‘Don’t Die Wondering’ tourney a success
Aug 08, 2012 | 795 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Golfers prepare to tee-off Saturday at Northwestern Hills for the ‘Don’t Die Wondering’ tournament.
Golfers prepare to tee-off Saturday at Northwestern Hills for the ‘Don’t Die Wondering’ tournament.
Nearly 100 golfers and many more friends of Northwestern State Lady Demon basketball convened at the Demon Hills Golf Course Saturday for the Don't Die Wondering Classic XXIV golf scramble, with some sizzling temperatures and firm fairways helping produce outstanding scoring throughout the field.

Lady Demon coaching legends Pat Nolen Pierson and James Smith were on hand to greet participants, along with Lady Demon coaches Brooke and Scott Stoehr and the Lady Demon coaching staff.

Kirby Moreau, Layne Miller and Steve Wiggins provided food during both the morning and afternoon flights and the traditional chicken dinner lunch.

Buddy Wood of Many captained the low scoring team, combining with Shreveport Times sports editor Roy Lang III, Patrick Netherton and Shane Arnold to post an 18-under score on the par 71 course. That won the low gross score division. Netherton also captured the long drive for men with a shot that reached the green, 12 feet away from the pin on the par-4 12th hole.

Taking low net honors, with an adjusted handicap figured in for each team, was the team captained by Paul Khoury and including Whit Maxey, Chris Mayeaux and Gerald Guin, carding a minus 21.3 net score.

Second in low gross at 17-under was the foursome of Bryan Stamey, Jacob Cooper, Jonah Morrow and Cole Kendrick. Kendrick also captured tough closest-to-the-hole contests on the par-3 third and ninth holes.

The team of Kevin and Kyle McCotter, Larry Nugent and John Peter Winkler took third in the low gross division with a 16-under score.

In the low net, a 20.7 score from Dustin Wright, Randy Lee, Brent Paddie and Pat Williams took second. Third at minus 20.1 were Stuart Wright, Jay Bankston, Greg Hilburn and Greg Swearingen.

Tammy Trichell was the women's long drive winner with a blast on the 16th hole that left her team just a few yards away from the green.

DDW 24 Winning Teams:

First Low Gross- Buddy Wood (Buddy Wood, Patrick Netherton, Roy Lang III, Shane Arnold) -18

Second Low Gross- (Bryan Stamey, Jacob Cooper, Jonah Morrow, Cole Kendrick) -17

Third Low Gross- (Kevin McCotter, Kyle McCotter, Larry Nugent, John Peter Winkler) -16

First Low Net- (Paul Khoury, Whit Maxey, Chris Mayeux, Gerald Guin) -21.3

Second Low Net- Dustin Wright, Randy Lee, Brent Paddie, Pat Williams -20.7

Third Low Net- Stuart Wright, Jay Bankston, Greg Hilburn, Greg Swearingen -20.1


Jim Cole, Roger Williams, Frank Hines, Mike Roddy) -15

Dustin Cross, Ryan Todtenbier, Paul Errington, Ryan Wooley, -14

Christi Mathis, Derrick Stephens, Josh Williams, Eric Hester, -14

Jack Brittain Jr., Tammy Trichell, Jill Bankston, Jim Rogers -14

Francis Deloney, Drake Harrington, Tim Sweeny, Jamie Lunsford -13

Steve Graf, Steve Kelly, Robert Lawrence, Richard De Vargas -12

Joey Lloyd, Greg Hennigan, Don Bedoya, Kyle Williams -12

Larry Hattaway, Clay Henry, Ray Veuleman, Blaine Viator-11

Dan Carr, Thelton Wall, Travis Alexander, Dan Smith -11

Dave Cupp, Hunter Mulligan, Steve Taylor, Brent Dean, -10

Ginger Craig, Anne LaHaye, Caitlin Shelton, Missy Spicer -10

Becca Hayes, Doug Ireland, Tony Taglovore, Scott Barron -9

Jason Parker, Harvey Marcus, Joe Cunningham, Patric DuBois, -9

Robyn Justin, Paul Giambrone Jr., Chris Lansdell, Todd Garzarelli -7

Dan Poole, Bill Poole, Mike Guess, Dan Smith -7

Chris Lee, Philip Fernbaugh, Jeff Givens, Jimmy Trindell, -7

Closest to the Hole on 3- Cole Kendrick

Closest to the Hole on 9- Cole Kendrick

Closest to the Hole on 10- Philip Fernbaugh

Longest Drive Male- Patrick Netherton

Longest Drive Female- Tammy Trichell
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of Natchitoches Times.